Ending User Sessions

  • 3
  • Idea
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • Implemented
Users in our office do not always remember to log out of PDS Church Office when they leave their work area. Since we are not allowed to log onto each others PC's, it becomes impossible to perform backups. It would be very helpful if user sessions could be ended remotely.
Photo of Elaine Cramer

Elaine Cramer

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 5 years ago

  • 3
Photo of Dave DeJonge

Dave DeJonge, Champion

  • 159 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes
I think this would be a great idea, or at the very least have some idle time out on a session.
Photo of David Cotton

David Cotton, Champion

  • 368 Posts
  • 35 Reply Likes
I don't know how it could be done, but it is indeed a very good idea. We have had many clients who couldn't do a backup because someone else was logged in to the program. In some instances, no one was in, but one of the lock files was being locked on the server and so backups couldn't be done. A way to log people off without having to connect to the server software and close open files would be a big help. Maybe this could be something only a Security Administrator could do.
Photo of Michelle Milstid

Michelle Milstid

  • 41 Posts
  • 7 Reply Likes
Or an application update for a way for the programs to self force close regardless of why the program did not shut down all the way in the event the user has actually closed the program, the icon cleared from the task bar, however when a review of Task Manager is done the processes still reflect PDS running.
Photo of Kaitlyn Snook

Kaitlyn Snook, Employee

  • 136 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
This has been implemented in the 8.2A release on 2-8-18.
For details, check out the release notes.