Archiving Families to the background that have Funds

  • 3
  • Idea
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • Implemented
It would be useful to have the program warn the user that the family they are about to remove/archive to the background had contributions/donations, are they sure that want to archive the family. Added to this would be useful if the program can list the fund years the family has, in order to make an informed decision before archiving the family.
Photo of Margarita Casas

Margarita Casas

  • 72 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes

Posted 2 years ago

  • 3
Photo of James Halstead

James Halstead

  • 61 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes
Margarita, this is a spectacular idea. If this feature were implemented I would be more willing to teach people to archive old families.
Photo of Margarita Casas

Margarita Casas

  • 72 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes
Yes James, the Diocese of St. Augustine really wants the wording to match what the users are doing. They are not deleting or removing, they are archiving.
Photo of Lillian Trasko

Lillian Trasko

  • 21 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Good idea!
Photo of Virg Crawford

Virg Crawford

  • 30 Posts
  • 6 Reply Likes
A warning would be great for this is well as other activities, like possibly and accidently changing an ID# when searching was the intended action.
Photo of Karen Komlos

Karen Komlos, Official Rep

  • 270 Posts
  • 31 Reply Likes
Virg - There is an option on the Initial Setup screen "Warn if Change ID or Name".  Try turning this option on if you have people accidentally changing IDs or Names when they think they are searching.
Photo of Virg Crawford

Virg Crawford

  • 30 Posts
  • 6 Reply Likes
Karen - Thank you for the tip. It took me awhile to locate the area, but once I did I was even able to add a few other helpful checkmarks. Have a blessed day.
Photo of Kaitlyn Snook

Kaitlyn Snook, Employee

  • 141 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
This was implemented in the Office 8.2A release on 2-8-18.
For details, check out the release notes for Church Office and Formation Office.
Photo of Virg Crawford

Virg Crawford

  • 30 Posts
  • 6 Reply Likes

Hi, Kaitlyn, I'm sorry, but I cannot locate how Archiving is done. I only see Add Family or Delete Family as options. When I attempt to Delete a family, the warning asks if I'm sure. Does it ask after that point about Archiving? Or, is there another area of the database for this option. I've checked Processes and the option there is to Activate/Inactivate, which can be done on the Family and Member screens. Please advise as Archiving would a great way to not have to see families with funds that are inactivated (even if these families are "hidden," scrolling is slowed down as records are still there to be scrolled past).

Photo of Kaitlyn Snook

Kaitlyn Snook, Employee

  • 141 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Hi Virg. You're correct -- at the end of the Delete Family process, you're asked if you'd like to keep the data for future use. See step 6 of the Delete a Family's Record help.

Hope that helps!